powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Bronx is up and I'm battered down

One of TA�s school assignments involves going to a different museum or museums every week. Last week it was the Brooklyn Hist0rical Society, this week was the Museum of Natural Hist0ry.

I can�t wait for the first 5 weeks of his semester to be over! That�s when we can go to whatever museums we want (museums that are no necessarily 2 hours away like Dia:Beacon or the Aldrich.) Right now, he�s got to visit specific ones, but you know, as far as homework goes, it�s still pretty cool. Especially since the professor assigns really interesting readings that correspond really well with the visits.

I love graduate school! Isn�t it funny that I�m not even enrolled?

I am also really enjoying the readings in one of TA�s other classes. He tells me that the in-class discussions are terrible, and that the professor is incompetent when it comes to directing and shaping the discussions. My theory is that the students don�t understand the readings or don�t really care, and they are just trying to divert attention away from the material by talking about superficial bullshit.

Yes, it�s challenging reading (Baudrillard, Ong, Logan, McLuhan) but it�s also fascinating.

I told TA he just needs to assert himself more. He has to find a way to learn in spite of his professor�s nincompoopery. After all, it�s his experience too. There�s no reason a few pinhead students who like the sounds of their own voices should be allowed to ruin his $60,000 education. This is one of those instances when I think it�s ok to be a little selfish?

Anyway, to get back to spending the day in Manhattan yesterday: I not only received a lovely compliment on my glasses from an absurdly stylish woman, I also made eye contact with this fine (Peter Sellers-lookalike) gentleman. Those two things plus having lunch at Momofuku noodle bar just made my day! Who cares if it was exhausting getting home?

11:50 a.m. - 2006-09-18

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: