powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Requiem pour un con

Je suis con.

Lunch was fun and delicious, and the Tiltons were lovely company. They are friends with my parents, but they are thankfully not *like* my parents so it was entertaining and stress-free and family-like. At least I prepared for the worst, and was pleasantly surprised. If my parents� visit is anywhere close to being this civil, I will eat my hat.

So now the Tiltons have gone off to look for clothes on sale, as their daughter gets married in a few weeks and Mrs Tilton doesn�t have anything to wear. I told them to take advantage of being here in the 6eme, which is rich with opportunity.

I am such an arrondissement snob�I only like mine and a few others. When I first got here, I sublet a small (is there any other kind?) apartment in the 11th, succumbing to the hype that it is indeed the hip, Mission-like �hood. Boy, was I disappointed. Not only was the area dark, dreary with sad, forlorn looking people, but the apartment was so squalid. Every time I walked in, I did my best Elizabeth Taylor in �Who�s Afraid of Virginia Woolf� imitation: What a dump! Plus, it had roaches which I cannot abide. It took me about 4 days to get a new place, and it was like a gift from above. Who knew that the same internet that secured me a roach-infested, fetid hovel could also bestow upon me a delightful, 17th century 2 room duplex in the heart of Saint Germain des Pres? Of course, this situation cannot last, as my funds dwindle daily and work arrives in drips and drabs.The bit of freelance work that I do do for some American clients is hardly enough to keep my head above water, and anyway they never pay on time and their checks are always mysteriously being held-up in A/P. I suppose I should put this dual-citizenship to use and find some work, but I don�t have my portfolio!

Yet another reason I am con.

I know there are ways around this dilemma, mais je suis faineante.

4:26 p.m. - 2001-07-25

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: