powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Size matters, even in yoga

My shoulders are killing me today.

It�s because I took a yoga class and the teacher made us bend our knees, project our asses backwards, arch our backs, and pull our shoulders behind us, hands on hips. Jesus! I looked ridiculous, and to make matters worse, from my vantage point I could see out the window and onto the alley behind the building where a homeless guy was settling into bed. I could swear he was looking right at me. Anyway, I thought my arms were going to pop out of their sockets. Of course I am cursed, and the teacher picked me to do the demonstration. Then he went on and on about how physiologically, women�s shoulders slope foward. Gee thanks, it�s not just me, but all women on the planet. We need to work harder to get them away from our chests, all the while keeping our shoulder blades flat on our backs. You know, the teacher was talking and manipulating my arms and shoulders and I felt like a dumb lump of clay. When I returned to my mat to do it on my own, I had amnesia.

I am not as flexible as I used to be when I was a dancer, and I am constantly amazed at what some people in class can do. They are like pretzels! Even when I was in my limberest phase, I don�t think I was as supple as the woman next to me yesterday who was practically folded in two. But there must be something about me that draws the teachers over and makes them use me as their dummy. It can�t be that I know what I�m doing. I�m convinced it�s my size. Since I�m little, I am always being patted on the head or being treated like a doll. Friends can�t just give me hugs; they have to pick me up and make a big show of their embrace. Or if they lean down to kiss me, they get into a real low squat and try to look me in the eye. It�s funny, I guess. I am always craning my neck, standing on my tippy-toes or jumping up and down to see things--the opposite. Fredrick (yoga teacher) squeezed my shoulders in a show of support, patted me on the head, and then readjusted me during the relaxation.

Today I�m going to try a class taught by a woman, and see if I get picked on. Probably not. Women are not as obsessed with size as men.

1:25 p.m. - 2002-01-04

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: