powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

She's alive!

Well, my back is feeling a lot better. That steady diet of Motrin did the trick, and I am now walking around, albeit gingerly, erect and proud. My friend Hilary thinks the injury was stress-related and she may have a point. Maybe it was the physical manifestation of my anxiety about being the primary bread winner? I hate to admit that I�m uncomfortable with having to be so frugal with my earnings because they have to be spread between 2 people. I�ve had to abandon all the little luxuries (Terax conditioner, Kiehl�s bubble bath, Lierac cleanser, fancy pants moisturizer) and I would be lying if I said that it didn�t bother me. Terence sent 5 sets of resumes and samples yesterday, and let�s hope something turns up. One job is in Chicago (have no idea what that city is like) and another is in some suburb of Munich, Germany. I�m not sure I can live in either of those places, but I didn�t have the heart to tell him that. Why should my preferences color his choices? He needs to make the right career decision for himself, and we can work out the �relationship� afterwards. That probably sounds cold but we�ve known eachother for so long now, that I�m not worried that I will be usurped by some Bavarian fraulein or some Midwestern equivalent.

First, some announcements to all my potes parisiens:

Yo yo yo, listen up, my favorite Bertrand Burgalat is playing the Elys�e Montmartre on April 3. He�s performing with AS Dragon and it should be great. AS Dragon is basically all of his studio musicians and there�s a blonde Swede who is so groovy 60�s, I can�t stand it. Right down to the rock posturing and aloof stage persona. In fact, if you�d like photographic evidence of his Supreme Sixtiesness, just click over to Bertrand�s site, okbertrand.free.fr, and click on �photos� then �diapos 3.� Those are images from the show that I went to during the summer at the Batofar. The Swede has a red guitar! If I were a rockstar, that�s what I�d have. Come to think of it, Miles from Beulah also has a red guitar... coincidence? I think probably.

Though I am feeling near tip-top, I am going to forego yoga this morning. For me, this represents incredible restraint but the reason is this: I have signed up for a supplemental yoga partnering workshop on Sunday (with my friend Hilary) and if I injure myself before the workshop, I will feel like a total idiot and will ruin the experience for my friend.

This afternoon is a scheduled trip to Santa Monica, to a bookstore called Arcana which is supposedly one of the best art/design/architecture places in the area. I�ve always wanted to check it out, so it�s fortuitous that my soon-to-be-a-rockstar pal suggested it for a research mission. I�ve already got some ideas up my sleeve, and I�m excited to find photographic evidence of the things that have been brewing in my tiny little overactive brain. When I�ve created my Frankenstein, I�ll let you all know so you can run out and buy her record and be suitably impressed.

Here�s what I�ve been listening to, in no particular order:

- Godspeed You Black Emperor

- Luna

- Mouse on Mars

I guess I�ve been needing to wallow in atmospherics (Poor miserable me! I have a bad back!) and these bands have been just what the doctor ordered.

10:18 a.m. - 2002-03-15

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: