powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In a nutshell

A recap:

Thursday: Bart Davenport at Amoeba. He is a sexy and charismatic performer and it is very difficult to watch him strum and sing and dance and not throw your panties onstage. I only wish he�d done more of his Otis Redding growling. The Girls� Night Out at North was fun except that all the ladies called it an early night and left around 8:30. The place is pretty cool though--all wood panelling and rock formations. I think it�s best to get there early to a) take advantage of Happy Hour, and more importantly to b) avoid all the loser meat-marketeers.

Friday: dinner at Authentic, then a double feature at The New Beverly cinema--Raising Arizona and The Big Lebowski. I love the Coen Brothers.

Saturday: cleaned my desk! This was no small feat. There were little piles everywhere, it was like a fricken igloo of post-its and papers. Two deliveries arrived: my Margaret Kilgallen doll and my adorable little lamps from the Netherlands. The doll will necessitate some kind of special box (clear but lined in UV-coated clear film?) for display purposes or am I losing all perspective and becoming a freaky comicbook collector-type person? I can�t even begin to wrap my feeble brain around that one, so I will move on to the lamps. They are soooo cute! And I bought them from a supercool Dutch site for a fraction of what it would have cost had I bought them here in the overpriced United States ($30 versus $110, and believe me, they are just *barely* worth $30 each.)

Last night I went to a friend of a friend�s boyfriend�s birthday thingie at a club in Echo Park. It must have been queer night because the place was crawling with every manner of butch girl and fey boy. And it was 80s night so I knew all the words to most of the songs. We were all sitting around, nursing our drinks, singing along when all of a sudden they played some crazy remixed version of Girls on Film and I just had to get up and dance. It was really fun, but I was wearing heels and so could not bust out any of my signature 80s moves. Oh yes, back in the day, I fancied myself some kind of alterna-choreographer, and created many robotic and silly dances which really, can only be performed in Converse or Vans for comfort and authenticity. It�s a lot easier to pop, lock and frug in tennis shoes than in 3 inch mary janes. I did, however, get to indulge in some nutty Tutankhamun moves during Egyptian Lover so all was not lost.

Which brings us to today, Sunday. The day we spring forward. Have I ever mentioned how much I hate this whole turning the clocks backwards and forwards? I think it�s just stupid fakery. My body knows there�s some nefarious plan at work right now, and no amount of coffee or official awake time is going to convince it otherwise.

12:46 p.m. - 2002-04-07

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: