powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eye eye eye

I feel like this entry should be all, �Dear Diary, I am so sorry that I haven�t written in you for a while, but I�ve been so busy,� but that just doesn�t hold any water. Fact is, I haven�t been that busy that spending a couple of minutes here and there updating would kill me.

However, I have had visitors since Saturday and it�s been a whirlwind of eating, shopping, laughing and shooting the breeze. Yesterday, I went to Barney�s and tried some crazy (not as in crazysexycool) eye cream by Shiseido. In typical hyperbolic beauty industry parlance, the cream is known as Bio Performance Super Eye Contour Cream. I had read a review that extolled the product�s many virtues, and I wanted a sample but they had none so the saleswoman just pumped some cream out onto my finger and I applied under my eyes. My friend Kirstie was watching me and exclaimed something like, �Wow, you really are dotting it underneath your eyes, and applying it exactly like they tell you to.� I felt like kind of a dork for being so princessy in my application but the skin under your eye is wafer-thin, and you must be delicate and not tug! Kirstie ended uo buying some makeup at Stila where the salesgirl had the WORST lipliner application. Fortunately for Kirstie, the salegirl made a great color recommendation and left Kirstie to apply it herself. Actually, the salesgirl wasn�t alone in her odd handling of the lipliner--I saw many plastic-surgeried older women trying to make their ballonned collagen lips appear even more pneumatic by drawing lines outside the natural outlines of their mouthes. Insane Clown Posse in the house!

I saw Mike White (Buck, of Chuck and Buck) at breakfast, and Kiefer Sutherland walking down the street in Beverly Hills in the afternoon.

The big news in these parts is that a friend of ours who is an emotionally-remote Howard Hughesian character (also referred to in this diary as Mr. Baloney First Name Tony) had a date with another friend of ours (Tracy) who is a singe-your-fingers Sassy lass. Everybody is on pins and needles waiting for an update. The best part (well, for me anyway) is that Tony is non-disclosure and Tracy is full-disclosure (frankly the only kind that I abide, especially if you�re my friend; well, she could be keeping things from me, but I think she is a good enough actress to know to at least construct elaborate, juicy lies for me only) so I expect all sorts of details. It will be really interesting to see what kind of information is revealed from both sides. Probably �all� versus �none.�

I can�t stand the non-disclosure people. You never feel like your friendship is equal. I have a really good friend whom I love to pieces but she is very non-disclosure. However she is making improvements. I would go through phases where I couldn�t hang out with her because it would drive me so crazy. I always felt like I was only allowed to know a portion of her and the disparity in our intimacy would bum me out. Fortunately for both us, she is slowly coming out of her shell, but it�s taking forever and I am having to harness huge tracts of patience. Yoga is helping of course.

Tonight I am going a focus group that pays $75 cash. Yee haw! It�s in Santa Monica which sucks (cause the traffic on the 10 will also suck) but that crazy eye cream just got cheaper so it�s worth the schlep.

10:25 a.m. - 2002-04-15

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: