powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jimmy Corrigan may be the Smartest Kid on Earth, but I am the Luckiest!

Elvis was amazing last night. The man�s still got it, and I was covered in goosebumps. He played �Brilliant Mistake,� �Little Triggers,� and �I Want You� and I very nearly broke down in tears. Oh, he played lots of other stuff but those were the tunes that stuck out to me. Oh my god! He played �Blood & Chocolate� and �You Belong to Me�!

The venue was sorta strange. The show was at the Kodak Theater which is an actual theater--like the kind you would go to to see an opera, say, or the Academy Awards. There was no dancefloor at all. Maybe it�s me, but I just don�t think it is appropriate to be sitting like proper adults when Elvis himself is rocking out to �I Don�t Want to Go to Chelsea� and Steve Nieve is acting like a spaz on the organ.

I saw Margaret Cho in the lobby, and my friend Dina went up and talked to her. Apparently, they were in some scene together in a random film that was never released. Look no further than this diary for Hot! Hollywood! Insider! Information!

In other Insider news, Minnie Driver was behind me in yoga class today. I did not know that a) she was so tall, and b) she was so pretty. Like everyone else, she was giggling about the silly partner exercises that the teacher was having us do. Speaking of yoga, I have decided to try my hand at work exchange at the studio. My first day of training is tomorrow. I�ve agreed to work from 8:30 to 10:30 on Saturday mornings from here on out, with occasional subbing once I get the hang of the system. For every 2 hours that I work, I qualify for either two 1/2 price classes, or one full price class. I need to start shaving expenses here and there in order to be able to afford my goddamn health insurance premiums which are now $210/month. I guess having a birthday bumped me into some new age bracket, and I am now having to pay more. Goddamn, healthcare in this country is an outrage.

I got my birthday present from Dina last night: a drawing by Daniel Clowes! Apparently, he is being featured in an Apple commercial that Dina worked on, and one day on the set, she asked him to draw something forme for my birthday. So it�s a quick sketch of Enid where she�s saying Happy Birthday to me, and it�s signed �from your friend, Daniel Clowes, 2002 A.D.� How lucky am I to have such a friend? And how lucky am I to have my very own, personalized drawing by none other than Daniel Clowes? He is my favorite comic book artist of all time, and GhostWorld is my Catcher in the Rye.

Ok, time for coffee and cake. That chocolate cake that I bought for Vanessa last night was delicious, and no one wanted to take the extra home but me. All the women were like, �No, it�s too much for me,� �It�s too dangerous to have that kind of temptation around the house� blahblahblah. I never look a gift cake in the mouth. Especially one that is so yum-o-rific!

3:32 p.m. - 2002-05-31

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: