powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What I do and what I did

I got that book production job yesterday. I came home from yoga, and there it was, on my answering machine.

Tomorrow I have a meeting at 10:30. As soon as I confirmed the time, I was peevish about having to reorganize my schedule around work, but I�m over it now. I�m a grownup, and grownups have to work to pay bills, and sometimes the work is not very exciting, sometimes the work drains the play right out of your life.

The job offer makes me feel bad for Terence, though. He has sent out what seems like a million letters and cvs and sample packets, and the responses have been slim. I send out one email that I forget about, they contact me and I get the job.

It�s different, since Terence�s field is tiny, and for every job he hears about, he know of at least 5 other talented people on the West Coast who are probably all going for the same position. It�s way more competitive than my field. I mean, graphic designers are a dime a dozen and the field itself has lots of offshoots: motion, interaction, print, web, etc. It used to drive me crazy being a graphic designer in San Francisco. It was highly unoriginal. Everyone claimed to be some kind of designer. It got to the point where I went from saying �graphic designer� to simply �designer� to finally answering the question �What do you do?� with �Not a whole lot.�

It�s not that I can�t stand feeling un-unique, it�s just that I had a mini French revolution where I didn�t want to be defined by what I did. It�s just kind of a tacky, prying, American habit, needing to know what someone does in order to better file that person into a box in your feeble little mind.�She�s a designer, file under artsy.� You can define me by what I listen to, what I shop for, what I like to eat, where I�ve travelled...

So with that in mind, here�s what I�ve been listening to:

- Komeda

- Starlight Mints

- Katerine

Here�s what I�ve been shopping for:

- new lipstick

- trendy jeans

- a laughing Buddha

Here�s what I�ve been eating:

- salade ni�oise

- Uncle Eddie�s Vegan chocolate chip cookies

- cherries

Here�s where I�ve been recently:

- Pasadena

- West Hollywood

- Manhattan

The places I�ve been to recently is not really a good sample since due to fiscal circumstances, I�ve not been able to indulge my wanderlust. However, I did have an epiphany the other day: I realized I need to go to Santa Cruz to pick up my camping gear so that we can take short little trips. I love the desert but right now is not the time to be going to the desert. We did that once at long time ago, and though we have great stories to tell, it was truly a terrifying experience. Imagine being in a little black car with no air conditioning in 110 degree heat at 1 in the morning, driving along through aptly-named Death Valley at high speeds in order to get a breeze going, having a GIANT bat splat all over your windshield, not wanting to turn on the wipers to get him off for fear of having the bat get sucked into the vaccum created by your open windows and then into your lap... the story does not end there, but the rest of it is not nearly as funny as the bat chapter.

9:13 a.m. - 2002-06-18

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: