powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday, monday

The What Have I Been Doing Handy List:

1. Eating a tartine beurr�e with butter and raspberry jam. The first one had cinnamon sugar on top.

2. Giving Terence a haircut. I have finally conquered my fear of the hair clippers. I used to hate cutting Terence�s hair because I would invariably do untold damage to his head. Since I gesticulate when I talk, the result would always look like someone had pecked at him. Little tufts, gone! But now, with more confidence, I am able to do the once over with a number 2 attachment, then refine with the number 1, go around the ears with scissors, and finally, clean up the back and sides with no attachment. He has an interview tomorrow at 1, and I am so glad that I didn�t make him look like a little retarded kid. Phew!

3. Going to the library to do some research and pick up the new book club book (something called �Slammerkin.�) I�ve got a little project up my sleeve, something which unites the twin wonderpowers of graphic design and yoga, and I am hoping that with further effort, I can conquer the world and retire in style. I don�t kmow what it is with the conquering language today. Let�s see if I can use the verb two more times... at least.

4. Going to Sav-On with a fistful of coupons. By the way, I am not one of those people who pronounces coupon �kew-pon.� I pronounce it French-style, naturellement. Same goes for the word �bouquet.� Americans seem to pronounce it �bow-kay.� I can�t do that. Anyway, I have been experimenting lately with drugstore brands, and there are a couple of things on sale that I need to test. Exciting, I know, but when you�ve found a line that costs $4 for both shampoo AND conditioner, it makes you realize how silly you were to pay $16 for just conditioner.

Anyway...

5. Dropping off Hawaii film to be developed. There is one roll of print film with only 16 exposures, and another complete roll of slide film. The print film will go to the lab around the corner; and I would like to take the slide film to a good lab only I need to ask around. I think there�s some professional place on Highland and someone else told me to just drop it off at Sammy�s. I don�t know. I�ll figure something out. I�m not even sure if I can afford to pay for the development, so maybe I should just hold off on taking the rolls in...

6. In the interim, here�s a photo of me and Terence on the croquet lawn at our silly Lana�i resort.

I would like to point out that every single visitor to that resort (except for our party) ignored the whites-only policy. I cannot tell you how irritated I was about that. What is the point of dress codes if no one respects them, and more importantly, no one enforces them? It�s pure pretension, I tell you what. We played on the lawn in front of the resort (there were two croquet lawns) and considering how many visitors stopped and gawked, we should have been paid for classin' up the joint.

As soon as I have more pictures (and people�s permission to post them,) I will include them here in this very diary.

More news later, I promise.

12:06 p.m. - 2002-08-19

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: