powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hare hare

I indulged and bought a copy of Num�ro, my fave French fashion magazine. It came with a Chanel cd, a conversation between Marc Jacobs and Kim Gordon, and the sad news that Mathieu Kassovitz is not only married, but has children. Damn.

I�ve been investigating yoga Teacher Trainings around the country, and I think I�ve settled on one in New York City that happens in January of 2003. It�s a three month thing with intensive practice, meditation and philosophy, and so far the program seems the most all-encompassing of the ones I�ve researched. If anyone out there has taken classes at Virayoga, I would love to hear about your experiences at the school! This is where the Training takes place. I haven�t committed any money to this idea, but I have sent off an email requesting additional information. Everything about that program excites me. There�s a Training at the school here where I work, and I suppose that in a pinch, that would be fine, but I really want my experience to be transformative and amazing and eye-opening and exhilirating.

Somebody needs to manage her expectations.

Eventhough Terence is not currently working, he says he will support me during Training time. Actually, I should mention that if things went the Terence way, he would support me all the time (not just when I wasn�t able to work.) He feels pretty strongly about his duty to provide, and it�s not weird or macho when you talk to him about it. It�s like he�s from another, more gallant era. In fact, when my older sister first met Terence, she said, �You know how some people have an Inner Child? Well, I think Terence has an Inner Old Man� and it�s very true. He has all the virtues of a contemporary, evolved man but with the cute, old timey solicitousness and manners.

So, if I do go to New York to train, I will be a Kept Woman. Yay! I�ll do some freelance work if it comes my way, but the goal is to immerse myself completely. That�s the plan for now at least.

So since I was in research mode, looking into other yoga schools in Manhattan, I was checking prices, teachers and schedules, and what should I come across but a name from my past. So strange! An old friend from my teenage years at the Academy of Ballet in San Francisco is now a Buddhist and yoga teacher at Om. I guess she�s gone from dance to yoga... sound familiar? I�m debating whether or not to try and contact her; Terence and Hilary both think it�s natural to want to, and that it wouldn�t be at all stalker-y to do so. I�m still on the fence.

So today I�m off to Govinda�s (the store/restaurant/temple run by Hare Krishnas) and the Bodhi Tree for design snooping. Then I have to drop off some transparencies, pick up some film, and go to class at 5:45. This is the first Saturday in a while where I haven�t had to work the front desk at the yoga studio, and it was reallllllly nice sleeping in today.

10:23 a.m. - 2002-08-24

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: