powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Numbers 1 through 7 where I go off

Number One

�The Truth About Charlie� is a matin�e. Do not spend $9 on the movie. You will feel ripped off. Thandie Newton is gorgeous, and they dress her Audrey-style so there is some connection between the film and the original �Charade.� She slips and slides around Paris in her little kitten heels. In �Charade,� Audrey had great chemistry with Cary Grant; not so with Thandie and Mark Wahlberg, who �mysteriously� pops up in a beret. A beret! He looks ridiculous! The art direction is cool, though. And the movie features an appearance by one of my favorite French pop artists, Philippe Katerine. He�s like the millenial Jacques Dutronc.

Number Two

Spoon was great last night. Some guy in the audience beforehand was all, �Spoon and Bright Eyes were the discovery of the last 6 months.� Yeah, right. Your 6 months! Anyway, inspired by Gingeryette�s lament yesterday about not being able to see because of monoliths blocking her view, I was proactively anti-tall person. I really dislike confrontation (really, who enjoys it?) and most of the time, all I do is complain. Big surprise. But not last night! No! I had a good spot, I could see the musicians from head to toe, when all of a sudden, some Felicity with a long neck comes and stands right in front of me! Overlapping her personal space with mine! So she looks about, feigns sheepishness, and turns her head towards the stage. So I tap her on the shoulder, and she looks at me like, �What? Me?� then proceeds to tell me a little story about how she �was� standing over there (signals to area to the left but in front of me) and she was just �trying� to get back to where she was before. So I give her my arch �Are you fucking serious?� look, and she looks at me sort of startled. I say, �Do you think you could stand behind me since you�re taller, that way we can both see?� And she looks so shocked, and MOVES TO STAND BEHIND ME! I won! I got to see the show without human interference. And actually so did Felicity girl.

Later, when we were leaving, Hilary came up to me and was in awe that I actually said something to the taller chick. �You�re a bad-ass! You scared her! She should know better than to fuck with you! That was almost an skirmish!� Yeah, a skirmish at a Spoon show, that�s what I�m after.

Number Three

The Giants rallied and won last night�s World Series game. Now they�re tied 2-2 with the Angels, so there�s still a chance they can win the Series. I sat and watched most of the game with Terence, confirming his suspicion that I am the good luck charm. I�m really only the J. T. Snow charm, tickled as I am by his soft hands at first base. If it�s possible to have a crush on a baseball player, then I have one. Tickle me with your soft hands, dammit. Now. I don't care if you're married with a 4.5 year old. That never stopped Babe Ruth (but why would anyone want to sleep with him? Blech.)

Number Four

Kidding, Terence.

Number Five

I invoiced a client $1500 two months ago for a completed project. About a month later, I received a check for $500. I send an email saying, �Hey, that�s only part of it, what�s going on, blahblahblah� and they respond with �Oh, sorry, we�ll look into it, oh, hey, look at that, oops, we�re sending another right out to you.� Another month goes by, and a check in the amount of $500 arrives in the mail. At this point, the new I�m Mad As Hell And I�m Not Going To Take It Anymore Rue-Madame gets pissed off and sends this email:

Dear So-and-so,

I did receive a check, only it was for half of the amount owed.

There is still a balance of $500 outstanding from the first invoice. Do you

know how much longer it will be before this invoice is paid? I am not in the

habit of barraging people with emails to get compensated for completed work, so

can we clear this matter up quickly? I don't want to have to take this to the

next step.

Thanks.

A few hours go by, and suprise! I get a phone call. And the editor, sounding angry, �confides� in me that they had to let their bookkeeper go, they�ve never had to do that before, and it�s been traumatic, and the books are all out of sorts, blahblahblah, that�s the reason I�ve been paid in drips and drabs. Like I care. Like it�s my business or concern. Like, that makes me feel really confident about them and their practices. She says that I will be paid the remainder in 10 days. Oh and by the way, there�s another book that will need production, the manuscript�s almost finished, she�ll call me when it�s ready to go. Yeah, like I�m really going to do business with a failing company that takes three months to pay me $1500 for finished work.

Number Six

All of that fuss with my sisters to organize a brunch for my mother�s birthday, and little sister (that�s sister number 2) never showed. We ate without her. She was supposed to be at my parents� house at 10:30 am to help out, and she didn�t call with an explanation until 3:30 in the afternoon, using one of her stock �dog ate my homework� excuses. By the time she arrived, everyone was gone (including me) and she bemoaned the fact that she has a bad reputation when it came to committments and family functions. Oh cry me a fucking river already. Maybe you have a bad rep because you're always late and always have some flimflam reason? I will quote once again my famous Aunt Corinne who once remarked "There's no excuse for bad manners" and ain't that the truth. Ruth.

Number Seven

I am not taking shit lying down this week. I�d better read my horoscope and find out what the deal is.

9:38 a.m. - 2002-10-24

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: