powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Poor widow me

Embarassing confession number one: I am addicted to makeupalley.com

Last night I was supposed to see Solaris, but plans got changed at the last minute. Instead, the plan was to go to North for drinks around 7. I got dolled up, dashed out the door, only to realize that all of my neighbors were home and I cannot maneuver my car out of its parking space when there are no empty spots. Totally, totally retarded. My friend Hilary says I suffer from post-traumatic fence destroying disorder, and this is why I was stranded. Actually, I considered taking a cab to the bar, tried valiantly a second time to move the car, and that�s when the entire proposition lost about 98% of its allure.

Vanquished, I stayed home, drank tea and believe it or not, watched Fear Factor. This is a very dumb show, ladies and gentlemen. I think watching Fear Factor was actually more pathetic than my not being able to maneuver the car, and Tracy confirmed this for me.

The neighbors finally cleared the way for me this afternoon, and I was able to go buy groceries. I have to have a fridge stocked with food for when Terence gets home. He is convinced that when he�s not around, I don�t eat. He believes that I adopt the bachelorette eating habits of my single friends, and sadly, he is correct. I didn�t buy very much at Whole Foods but I bought things that I like and that Terence usually grumbles about.

Yay for me eating expensive Morbier! (Terence�s objection: overpriced and never tastes as good as it does in France, why torture yourself. Ok, he�s right.)

Yay for me eating a grilled slab of ahi tuna! (Terence�s objection: buy it raw and grill it yourself. It�s cheaper and tastes better. He�s sort of right, but if I cooked tuna, the whole house would smell fishy. Yuck.)

Yay for me buying overpriced radicchio! (Terence�s objection: what�s wrong with regular, non-bitter tasting less expensive lettuce? There�s nothing wrong with regular lettuce, I just like to mix it up.)

It�s not like Terence would grab the wallet. He doesn�t care all that much about what I buy so long as there are a few things he likes. He�ll be happy to know that I�m eating well. Hell, I may even make a lemon-artichoke soup tonight! Gourmet Girl on the Go! And I bought eggs so let the baking begin!

No news from him in Seoul, by the way. I expect each of his days is highly structured with tours etc. There�s supposed to be some kind of company holiday party too. Can�t wait to hear what that�s like.

A friend of ours says we should work it so that the company has to hire me to do graphic design. That would be cool, I guess. I�d have something to do while Terence was off working 14 hour days. I confess that I was sort of looking forward to doing very little, to being an art school dilettante, or a Lady Who Lunches, or some kind of stylishly, couture-clad kept woman with a car and driver. I know this is fantasyland, but I can dream. What if they offer Terence a Brinks truckload of money?

Embarassing confession num�ro deux: a Brinks truckload of money gives me goosebumps.

4:04 p.m. - 2002-12-03

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: