powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Razzle dazzlin' 'em

I just got back from showing my portfolio. It went well.

I wore a red sleeveless t-shirt that is very flattering and my trampypants. I don�t think they even noticed my cute outfit. No matter. I noticed theirs. The guy was wearing shoes that looked like slippers and nail polish. I didn�t think men still wore nail polish! Is it even remotely subversive at this point in time? The woman wore a flowery tunic over pants, and had dyed orange hair.

They were both really nice and knowledgeable about publishing and printing. Such a relief after so many interviews where the potential client exhibits zero knowledge or comprehension. Phew! And the project sounds really interesting and I�m kinda excited about it.

Now I just need to estimate how much the cover design should be. I hate this part. I need to go to the bookstore down the street, to sneak a peek at the Graphic Artists Guild Handbook. The book has ballpark figures for all sorts of design, and the edition that I have is from �94. Time to upgrade.

When the guy asked me what a general figure would be, he ventured, �bear in mind that we�re not Disney. We don�t have that much money. I mean, I may be able to afford, like, $3.�

At that, I said, �Three bucks? Well then, the deal is off.�

Man, I crack myself up.

I figure, what the hell do I have to lose? It�s not like I have work right now anyway. Terence and I have both been channeling this guy Alan that we used to know in San Francisco. He would always say �can�t hurt; might help� and it�s a great mantra to use when your inner critic rears his/her hideous mien or when you�re feeling less than confident.

I�ve been using it for a while in yoga, and I think it�s really helped my practice. It also helps that the teachers at my yoga studio are always encouraging the students to go beyond what they think they�re capable of, to tempt gravity and just fall over. Who cares if you fall over? You�re not really going to hurt yourself and it�s liberating pushing yourself to the point of looking ridiculous. I always laugh at myself in class when I try to go past my �safe� boundary--I always end up on my ass. For me, this happens in vasisthasana whether I�m doing the crazy foot in hand version, or the regular balancing sideways version.

Terence wants me to help him make dinner. He gets so excited about pea soup, it�s ridiculous. My job will be salad, and perhaps dessert.

5:40 p.m. - 2003-02-06

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: