powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Busy, busy, busy clippers

Heavy metal pyrotechnics started a fire that killed 85 people in a club in Rhode Island.

Two words: indoor fireworks.

Those two things don�t go together, people--unless you�re Elvis Costello and you�re being metaphoric.

Let�s perpetuate the �myth� that heavy metal music is stupid and that the people who listen to it are dumb.

"Heavy Metal Parking Lot." Need I say more?

Work is on the horizon... My book cover meeting today just got rescheduled for Monday. That�s fine; everything is printed out (four ideas, each one illustrated with one color version and 2 black-and-white ones.) This morning, I got an email from my Favorite Client about designing either a t-shirt or a tote bag so that will keep me busy throughout next week. And I�ve also got Mr Bingo�s book project to return to--an entire section needs my eyeballs and I�m going to devote some time to that this weekend.

I don�t know where this sudden flurry of activity came from, but I�m happy about it. I need the work cause I need the money. The advantage of working on quick-turnaround projects is that the projects end quickly and you get paid quickly; the disadvantage of the speed is the physical + mental exhaustion.

I was going to indulge in a matin�e today since I unexpectedly got some respite from my work, but I am going to help TA instead. He�s been such a great resource the last few days--scanning things, editing and colorizing them in Photoshop, critiquing and improving my work--that I feel I owe it to assist him in his job search. He�s put off sending cv�s and letters to help me get these book covers off the ground.

I have two credit flights with JetBlue that will expire in May sometime so I�m trying to come up with a cheapo little vacation. I know it�s ridiculous for me to go on a vacation since I haven�t got two nickels to rub together, but the flights are already paid for and I don�t use them, they�ll--poof!--vanish. Cities I�m considering: Washington DC and New York. Now I just need to uncover some decent hotels. Any reasonable recommendations?

2:19 p.m. - 2003-02-21

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: