powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Riding high

I listen to the PuzzleMaster on Sunday mornings on npr, and I�ve solved next week�s brain teaser!

Here�s the clue: think of a 5-letter word, with the consecutive letters AL. Change the AL to an O, and the result is a 4-letter word that means the opposite of the first one. What words are these?

Figure it out yet?

* Scroll to the bottom of the page to find out the answer.

I had my meeting today with the publishers about the book covers, and they loveloveloved them. I am not used to people being so effusive about my work, so the Art Director shouting a big �Woohoo!� as I was leaving came as a bit of a shock. I�ve got to crank out some revisions by tomorrow, and some of those will involved a trip to a notions/fabric store. But other than that, the job�s in the bag. Of course, as I was driving away, thinking about their reaction, this is what I thought:

"That was too easy. They must have low standards, or work with sub-par designers."

Ha.

Then I received an email with yet more praise from The Rock Star whose flyers I�ve been designing. Apparently a bunch of Important People have said complimentary things, and she forwarded them along. I got a �very cool art� from a famous music video/film director, and an �I love your flyer, man� from an important stylist to the stars.

I�m feeling the flattery... and how!

Now I�ve got to ratchet down the ego and get cracking on this other, new project. God, I hope this work translates into more work. I am bored with my current brokitude, and would love to catch up to my bills and mitigate my seemingly insatiable lust for things and whatnot. I can barely afford the cheapie Marc Jacobs stuff--that�s the level of ignominy that I�ve sunk to. I know, I know, stop dabbing your eyes over my abject misery, it�s like a fucking Dickens novel over here.

Jesus, is it about to rain? The sky just went superdark and gray.

* Here�s the answer to the puzzle: VALID and VOID. I'm pretty sure this is correct. At least, it makes sense to me. I'll have to wait til Sunday to see if Will Shortz confirms it.

3:39 p.m. - 2003-02-24

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: