powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am getting more boring

I have been working at such a frenetic pace that I have mouse elbow, a cramp in my right shoulder, and general stiffness in my left hip and left lower back. I�ve been popping Motrin like chiclets. I have one of those superduper fancy ergo task chairs but it�s still a wee bit too big for me and therefore occasionally it does more physical harm than good. I curse you, Herman Miller!

I curse you parents for making me a 5th percentile! The world is not tailored to people of this size!

Design is bad for your health. No, seriously, it�s true. I know very few designers who lead healthy lives that include exercise, proper work/life balance and the occasional hobby. It�s one of those professions that can quickly consume and destroy a normal, happy existence.

It�s not always that bad, I�m just feeling a bit cranky.

Lately, because this project I am working on is high! priority! high! urgency! I am like a doctor on call. I can�t leave the house because I can never be too far away from my computer or phone. A mobile phone is even pointless. It�s maddening not being able to leave your office when you feel like it. It�s like having a real job. I know the project needs to done yesterday, but crickey, no one�s life is on the line.

Anyway, I haven�t been to yoga in almost a week and a half. Yoga would be the exact prescription I�d give myself if I were actually a doctor... right after valium, muscle relaxants and other opiates. May as well stockpile, right? I look to Winona for all my pharmaceutical advice.

Every day ends with this: �I can�t wait to go to sleep tonight!�

How pathetic. At least last night�s bedtime collapse was preceded by a modified Mr Bingo cocktail (San Pellegrino Limonata and whiskey,) a salade de ch�vre chaud, and Fellini�s 8 1/2. How I love Marcello Mastroianni and Nino Rota�s music.

In other news, I�ve got not one, but two invitations to go to art openings this weekend. One is courtesy of the delightful Gingeryette, the other courtesy of the also delightful Mr Bingo. Well the Mr Bingo invitation is actually a dinner held after the reception at some wealthy art patrons� house. He thinks I can be stealth and slip in, talk to people and possibly make good LA/design/art contacts... we�ll see.

I�ve got to invoice, finish my taxes, and write a letter to the State Board of Equalization. After that maybe I�ll go for a little walk down to 3rd to check on the progress of my Sigerson Morrison store, then poke around the other shops and do some l�che-vitrine.

8:49 a.m. - 2003-03-19

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: