powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

War, what is it good for?

Iraqi people,

I am from Jupiter.

This is what I say out loud or think to myself when I hear �Iraqi people.�

Black Elvis, not bombs. Not quite a catchy t-shirt (yet, it needs work,) but no dumber than �one tequila, two tequila, floor� Or "Proud to be an American."

Completely unrelated: I love Adrian Brody. I don�t know if I�ve sung his praises before, but last night he looked fiendishly handsome, and his Halle Berry embrace made my knees go weak. Good god, he is h-o-t hot. He can Freedom Kiss me whenever he wants.

I finished my taxes.

I went to yoga this morning.

I went to two art openings over the weekend: one for Mark Ryden, and another for Roy McMakin. The Mark Ryden one was insane. There was a line to get in, and a mob scene on the sidewalk in front of the gallery. Totally nuts. We could barely get our wine glasses to our mouths without being jostled from the left or from the right. I didn�t want my favorite shoes to get ruined so we left early. I know it sounds shallow but a) we couldn�t see the art very well anyway and would be better off returning on a regular day, and b) you haven�t seen the shoes. If they got ruined, you�d cry with me.

The other show was just a couple of blocks away so we walked and got there before the crowds. In fact, it was pretty crafty because it meant that we had a 2 glass start on everyone else in the champagne department. And we had prime spots for the snacks. This is key when attending a party with fancy catered hors d�oeuvres. The other important thing is to be friendly with the waitstaff. If you�re nice to them, they bring you the beef tenderloin skewers, mini ham + cheese sandwiches, crab cakes, endive with ch�vre + preserved fig, and baby bruschetta when they�re still warm. The show itself was good; I really like McMakin�s functional art/furniture, and I enjoy his sense of humor and his use of color.

Oh my god I am so tired right now. I�m going to take a nap. That's some pacifism, huh?

2:36 p.m. - 2003-03-24

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: