powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can't wait to get to Level 42!

I�ve been watching a lot of movies lately.

In the last week:

- Italian for Beginners

- Far From Heaven

- The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys

- The Good Girl

- Summer of Sam

I liked 4 out of 5 which is surprising since I generally like very little. I should mention that my expectations were very low so I wasn�t as disappointed as I might have been had I been really looking forward to the films AND had paid full theater admission.

I kept all the 20/20 video store receipts to tabulate how much had been spent on rentals in one the month of March. And wouldn�t you know it, it added up to more than a Netflix membership. So I signed up for Netflix. The only problem I foresee will be the lack of decent foreign, classic, independent, and unrated or X-rated films, but I suppose I could go back to 20/20 in a pinch.

I am a Late Adopter by economic status, by design--not by choice. I don�t rebuff new things because they�re too new and I�m not psychologically ready for them. I didn�t have a cd player for the longest time because I couldn�t afford one. I didn�t have a vhs machine, or a cordless phone for the same reasons. This was back when I was still in school and had no money, when spending 79 cents on an avocado was a splurge.

These days, I am still in financial straights, but things are looking a little brighter. I�m not quite ready to replace my cds with an iPod, but it doesn�t seem so far fetched to me. However, at this point,my needs are much more basic--where�s rent? Did my health insurance get cancelled because my payment was late? Which credit card has zero apr for a year? How can I avoid paying $255 in federal taxes? Should I make the minimum or the maximum contribution to my SEP IRA?

See, very basic needs. Like, Level 1 of Maslow�s hierarchy.

Or maybe Level 1.5.

9:42 a.m. - 2003-04-07

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: