powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bobbin' and weavin'

I am going to work today.

I am not going to dilly-dally, read W, fantasize about shopping, or do any more research on Kinerase.

I�ve got some texture/surface design homework to finish, actually. A few weeks ago we did an assignment that combined the idea of quilting with contemporary bedding (not the oxymoron you might think!) We were each given a bedding catalog, samples of paper and were asked to design a pattern that could be applied to a set of pillowcases and sheets. What catalog did the teacher-slash-Calvin-Klein-doppelganger give me? Did he give me a Chambers or a West Elm or a Garnet Hill? No, of course not.

He gave me The Company Store!

Blech!

When he handed the catalog to me, he had an evil smirk that said, �I dare you to design for middle America!� He even warned me, �Don�t dress this up in sophistication! Remember your audience.� Fie!

I have to take my quilt/bedding collages, scan them and see how many different variations I can achieve for an entire line. For the second assignment, I have to weave items that are not traditionally woven. To give the class an idea of what he meant, the teacher showed us leather strips that he�d woven into coasters (virile bachelor chic,) and long cords of kelp that he�d woven into a square-ish sculpture (very beautiful.)

Since I like the idea of creating something organic, and I like the idea of going against my tendency to controlcontrolcontrol, I checked the green recycle bin behind my building to see if there were any good cuttings left by the gardener. It smelled soooo bad when I flipped open the lid that I decided to weave together a bunch of random cables (ethernet, phone, electrical, etc) instead.

Here I am already fucking off instead of working! I am so clever that way. But now I must really stop.

12:42 p.m. - 2003-07-23

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: