powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vampire Can Mating Oven

Gonna move to the city

I'll join a rock and roll band

Gonna dress and act like Lou Reed

And I think I'll go to film school

Live in a scummy part of town

Read alot of William Burroughs and be depressed

-- from �Down and Out� by Camper Van Beethoven

Camper Van was so, so, so incredible! I haven�t danced like a crazy fool in forever, and it was long overdue. The best part was that the venue was tiny, and there weren�t that many people so it was like attending a private show. They played tons of different stuff (from instrumentals to jams to covers) and it made me so happy. I was literally 3 feet away from the band.

Their sound is klezmer-psychedelic-gypsy-folk-ska-rock, but I think the �official� description is something like folk music for a country that doesn�t exist. And they did that thing that I love where they play one song from beginning to end, then right afterwards, play the same song backwards with the lyrics sung backwards. Genius.

They also did �Wasted,� the best Black Flag song EVER (after TV Party.)

The rest of the weekend was pretty mellow. We had drinks on Saturday night at a bar I�d never been to before (The Well) and that was nice. I talked to a film editor from New York who was supernice, and told me to look her up when I�m in New York.

Speaking of which, Mr Bingo�s book signing is almost a go, and he�s invited me to New York with him! It�s compensation for having helped him with the design, and I hope the plan materializes. I would love to go to Manhattan with him. He likes to do all the things I like to do: complain, gossip, eat, drink and shop. I am the hag to his fag. And eventhough he thinks he is not cool, he is: he knows exactly where to go, what to see, what to try. Everybody cross their fingers that this will work out for me. It�s supposed to happen in September so if you can�t cross your fingers for that long, start around August 20th. The management thanks you for your effort.

4:45 p.m. - 2003-07-28

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: