powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Battle of the Bulge

What a weekend. I feel like I ate the entire time.

My sister and her boyfriend are frightening Foodies. The kind who see no problem in spending $400 each for a dinner, $80 for a bottle of a �good� wine, or $8 per lb. for heirloom tomatoes. She worked in fancy schmancy French restaurants for years, and he was a sous-chef/chef at a bunch of great restaurants in SF (in fact, one of my favorite cheapie French ones.) They like to eat.

They made brunch at our house yesterday and it was a feast for 10 people--but there were only 5 of us. The table was covered with melons, blackberries, strawberries, heirloom tomato salad with basil, sausages, eggs, waffles, toasted challah, bread and cheese, muffins, champagne and orange juice. It was cuckoo and after two hours, I had to undo my pants.

To them, it was no big deal. Who doesn�t have a Sunday feast on a regular basis? Who doesn�t cook lavish, elaborate meals for their friends?

Well, we don�t. And it�s not because we don�t want to. The dining room in our apartment is Terence�s office, so most days we eat on our laps or on the floor in the living room (my office.) We only ever have 1 or 2 people over at a time cause we don�t have that many plates, cutlery or serving platters. When we do extend an invitation, we sometimes ask guests to supply their own forks or chairs.

And we certainly do eat. It�s not like we�re freaky LA food phobics. We just don�t eat as much as or like people with disposable incomes. We split chicken breasts, we don�t buy expensive cheeses, or things considered �optional fun food� (cookies, cakes, yoghurt, ice cream, things you can live without.) We splurge in the area of produce and either buy organic or at the Farmers Markets. Shamefully, we occasionally shop at Ralphs. Oh, the ignominy. And if we crave something special, we try to make it, not buy it.

My sister thought our fridge was bare. After her visit, it looks jam-packed with enough food for a family of 6. I feel so spoiled! In addition to tons of fruit, there are petits suisses, leftover sausages, grilled chicken, 4 varieties of cheese and a chocolate truffle. This morning I ate like a queen.

Mr Bingo is convinced that Terence and I are on a starvation diet. Whenever he comes down to visit, he stuffs us with steaks, peaches and other novelties. He says we are withering away to nothing, which is patently ridiculous. Terence has a little belly and I have a little pot.

No, I will not be posting a photo. That�s between me and my spandex.

11:10 a.m. - 2003-08-11

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: