powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fire, walk with me, and after that, help me with my handstand

The yoga studio that I attend is at a very busy corner in West H0llywood. No matter what time of day I practice, there�s always tons of honking, screeching brakes, fire engines, ambulances, yelling, and intermittent car alarms. When school�s in session, there are, additionally, schoolyard noises and class bells. Oh, and the occasional incoherent homeless burbling.

Hardly a peaceful environment.

I do Anusara y0ga, and at the beginning of class we sing Om 3 times, followed by an opening invocation (3 times as well), finally ending with 1 Om. Tonight, the singing sounded off. A lot of teachers recommend that as you sing, you pay as much attention to the sound you are making as to the sound the class is making, so that your voice blends harmoniously with the voices around you. Well, tonight, I was listening, and the class itself sounded like traffic. Everyone�s pitch was different, people started at odd intervals, voices were cracking, the whole thing was a cacophonous mess that melded harmoniously with the sounds on Santa Monica and Fairfax. We were one with the urban jungle.

It�s been superhot the last few days here, and normal yoga has become Bikram-like. Even with the studio windows open, it�s impossible to get a breeze going unless the ceiling fans are on. Tonight, the fans were on 11, and when I closed my eyes, it almost felt like I was on a tropical beach. I think that�s what it must be like when you go on one of those retreats to Costa Rica or Mexico. All that was missing was the sound of the waves.

One day, when I have money, I am going to splurge and go practice yoga in an exotic locale.

Tonight I was partnered with a woman who�s in a lot of my classes. I have no idea what her name is, so it was a trip when she said, �Hey, Rue-Madame, wanna spot me?� I almost said, �Sure, Sherilyn� because she is a dead ringer for Sherilyn Fenn. And in my head, I�ve always thought of her as Sherilyn Fenn. Is there anything cuter than Audrey Horne on �Twin Peaks�?

I just ate dinner and a leftover petit suisse (with brown sugar, strawberries and blackberries. There is still a ton of food left from my sister�s crazy gastromic visit!) I think I should do some handwash and, in particular, soak these sweaty yoga clothes that I�ve still got on, but all I want to do is vegetate in front of the tv.

Numb me, Simpsons.

9:33 p.m. - 2003-08-13

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: