powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Food, glorious Food! Hot sausage and mustard!

I used to have a subscription to Vogue and yesterday, I thought about getting a new one.

Not because of the fashion--I�ve got W and Num�ro for that. No, I wanted to read Vogue because of Jeffrey Steingarten. He is the food writer and he is wonderful.

I was reminded of this last night while I was re-reading an article of his and preparing his rendition of gratin dauphinois. Not only did I delight in his descriptions, but his recipe made the most mouth-meltingly delicious gratin I�ve tasted in a while. Sure, it contains milk, cream and obscene amounts of butter, but that�s why it tastes so damn good! Potatoes the way God intended.

The gratin, some lemon-thyme grilled chicken and an arugula salad is what I ate for dinner. I was content.

Mt Steingarten once wrote an article about a little taqueria in Rosarito that made me so hungry, I had to run to the nearest burrito joint and get a fix. At the end of the article, he mentioned that if you sent him a postcard, he�d send you the recipes, so I have in my collection a laserprinted set of instructions for carne asada, salsa ranchera and flour tortillas. The carne asada is easy and delicious, especially when thrown on the bbq.

I highly recommend reading Vogue for his articles. He knows a ton, and is incredibly funny. He�s also written two books, neither of which I�ve read unfortunately. They�ve been on my Amazon wish list for ages, and one of these days, I�m going to get them and devour them.

I am multitasking right now: typing and baking! Eventhough it�s a zillion degrees outside, I need to have the oven on for cookies. I am insane.

2:57 p.m. - 2003-09-02

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: