powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This pigeon is not a rat with wings

In yoga yesterday, the teacher singled me out to demonstrate something I have never done before in my entire life (including that time in my teens when I was a dancer and as flexible as a pretzel) and something which has always terrified me.

Using a strap, I showed everyone how to do Eka Pada Rajakapotasana, also known as One-Legged King Pigeon Pose. This is an accomplished yogi doing the pose, without the use of a prop. I looked far less graceful. And I don�t wear a unitard. That�s so 1970s PBS early morning television.

I made a little loop out of the strap and put my foot in the strap. Then with the teacher�s encouragement and lots of guided breathing, I grabbed the loop (with the foot in it) and twisted my arm over my head. Then I extended the other arm forward, sucked my shoulder blade onto my back, then reached behind my head and grabbed the strap. Thanks to the teacher, I actually felt my back foot with my hands. Naturally, when I did it on my own with the other leg, my foot was miles away from my grasp. But that was closer than I�ve ever come to doing the pose successfully, and it didn�t hurt and I felt exhilirated.

That�s the thing about yoga. There�s always something just beyond your abilities that makes you want to keep persevering. And even when you think you�ve mastered something, there�s invariably another thing that needs adjusting or correcting. It�s fantastic for someone like me who�s a deranged perfectionist.

After class I thanked the teacher for making me demonstrate.

Me: I was freaked out which is why I kept my head down when you were looking for a victim. I purposely didn�t make eye contact with you!

Him: That�s how I knew I had to pick you!

Nothing gets past those yogis.

I was up at 6:30 am thanks to some horrifically painful cramps, and now I need to take a nap. I have class this evening and want to be alert so that I can absorb the maximum about Flash MX.

3:41 p.m. - 2003-09-16

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: