powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When it rains, it pours

Things here have been a little crazy.

1. The client who caused me so much grief last year sent me an email asking if I�d be interested in doing some production. I replied �yeah on condition that there�s a contract with clearly delineated payment milestones, etc.� So she gets back to me and says, �yeah, yeah, that�s fine, oh and by the way I�m giving your name to someone at insert-name-of-huge-media-conglomerate here about some work.�

2. Uh, ok.

3. So I never hear back from Grief client. Instead, I hear from someone entirely new at an entirely new company I�ve never heard of. So new is this person, and so mystifying is the name and voice, that I think I�m talking to a woman with a glottal impediment. But she seems nice enough and wants to see my work. She�s acting as the intermediary for hugemediaconglomerate. She got my name from Grief lady.

4. �Can I meet you tomorrow at 2?� Uh, ok. Race around throwing shit into my portfolio.

5. Go to yoga to calm down. Spend an hour and a half unwinding and being centered, only to come home, jump in the shower, stub my toe, and revert to primal frantic state. I think this is who I really am.

6. I head to a little house near the Sunset Strip to show my stuff... to a man! A small man with big muscles in a tshirt and fleece vest. Who wears fleece vests anymore? I mean, this isn�t Seattle or Sun Valley. It�s Los Angeles! It practically never gets colder than 70 degrees. He raves about my work, tells me it�s a great opportunity and that the contact at hugemediaconglomerate is cool and will love my work.

7. These people in Hollywood... they are always so damned effusive, it�s incredible. I never believe them. Maybe I didn�t get enough love and praise when I was a kid, but really, this guy had no idea what he was talking about. I am proud of my work, but none of it is mind-blowing. C�mon.

8. Drive home trying to avoid looking at scary Hell�s Angels CalTrans workers in the truck next to me. They were fucking terrifying.

9. Get a call from old client whom I love to pieces who, oddly enough, works for a different arm of hugemediaconglomerate. She and her staff have just been laid off, but she has a few niggling things that need to be done and can I do them? �Sure�

10. Pour glass of wine.

That�s been pretty much the last two days.

Today I have more work to do, a Monday meeting to plan for (in Burbank, at 8 in the frickin� morning, wft?), yoga to squeeze in, and Beulah to see and adore. Tomorrow I have class (that I haven�t prepared for) and Sunday I work at the yoga studio for a few hours.

Is Mercury out of retrograde? Is that what this is all about? Alfie?

9:23 a.m. - 2003-10-03

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: