powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Large and in charge

No updates lately, and no yoga either. I�ve been too busy slaving away to even leave the house for fun or sit at the computer for leisure. This is so wrong on so many fronts. I will attempt to correc that a little bit right now.

I did, however, manage to get taken out to dinner AND a movie last night. We all met at El Compadre and ate caution-your-plate-is-hot Mexican food, then trooped over to the ArcLight for �21 Grams.� It�s my travail alimentaire boosted with entertainment. That�s what happens when you design another logo for a friend.

I liked the food at EC more than I liked the movie, and I realize that�s apples and oranges. I was irritated with how Naomi Watts character was a mom in Memphis, but wore Marc by MJ. Where would she buy that? Was it supposed to be a visual cue that her life pre-marriage, pre-two kids was kinda hip? I didn�t buy it for a second. And her husband was supposedly an architect, but he didn�t look like any architect I�ve ever known. His hair wasn�t groomed, and his clothes weren�t right, and the furniture in his house was way, way too Pottery Barn. Those kinds of details always bug me.

It�s like when you see a low-budget indie movie, and you can�t stop counting all of the IKEA pieces framing the action. Maybe I�m the only one who does that? Or the three scooters they used for �The Talented Mr Ripley� (they just moved them around from scene to scene... yeah, there are only three scooters in all of 1950s Italy) or also in that same movie, the 1960s espresso machine they use for their coffee... I guess this means I�m detail-oriented?

Anyway, other than that, and making dinner for a friend, the week has flown by. Cooking has been my escape: I made a roasted pumpkin, radicchio and feta salad with lime juice and pinenuts that nobody but me really appreciated. I made snickerdoodles, as well as enchiladas verdes, and chicken soup. And I wonder why I tip the scales at the doctor�s office! I need to get serious here, and return to my life of salades compos�es and cuisine alleg�e.

7:39 a.m. - 2004-01-23

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: