powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Those who don't

Another yoga class last night, another opportunity to realize how spoiled I was in Los Angeles. I miss my old yoga studio. I miss the teachers, and the convivial atmosphere of class. I miss partnering in handstands, and I miss some of the friendly regulars. Maybe people here are more reserved because it�s winter? And they�ll bud and blossom as the weather warms?

In a way, I am kicking myself for not having done a Teacher Training--I could at least be teaching the sort of class I�d like to be in. The truth is, if I really wanted to teach yoga, I would be doing that right now. And I�m not. I continue to design because I like it and I know I�m good at it.

O f course, I�ve spent a good chunk of my life learning about design and practicing as a designer. If I had spent the same amount of time studying and teaching yoga, I would probably be just as good a teacher as I am a designer.

Or maybe not.

I never enjoyed tutoring students, and I nearly gave myself ulcers guest lecturing at my university. I am too huge of a spaz, and besides I just don�t think I have the patience for teaching.

-- For example --

Student: I don�t get it.

Me: What do you mean you don�t get it?

Student: I mean, I don�t get it.

Me: What is there not to get?

Student: I�m not sure.

Me: Well I�m not either now. Anyone?

-- End of example --

I think it�s ok to just be a student. I don�t think being one means that I�m taking away/consuming more than I�m contributing/creating.

12:10 p.m. - 2004-03-23

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: