powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back in black, deux

I got presents this weekend.

From the yogi: a coral-colored cashmere short-sleeved henley with a white cotton collar, and this cd to help me be more disciplined

From Harriet: a beefcake shot of Adam Brody ripped from a magazine, and this first edition comic book

Now I have something cute to wear and something good to read. On the plane. The plane I�m taking to Oakland, California. This Thursday at 6am. To attend Terence�s great uncle�s funeral. Which actually takes place in Chico, California, five hours from Oakland by car.

I am trying not to dwell on the negative. I am attempting the role of the supportive girlfriend--the girl who keeps her trap shut and doesn�t criticize (the role of my career! Take that, Charlize!)--so I am accentuating the positive, and here are some of the East Bay options I�ve come up with:

- Peet�s coffee

- dinner somewhere in Rockridge or if I can browbeat someone, the caf� at Chez Panisse or someplace else in the gourmet ghetto

- Amoeba

In another month, we fly out again, this time for a friend�s wedding.

At this rate, we will never acclimate to the East Coast.

Speaking of, Spring has officially Sprung. I have been seeing insects, there are more dead animals on the road, and birds are singing. Believe it or not, there was an actual woodpecker outside my window, hammering metronomically away at a tree trunk. I don�t think I�ve ever seen one of those outside of a cartoon before.

1:43 p.m. - 2004-03-29

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: