powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nada nada, limonada

I didn�t do any work yesterday.

The client didn�t call me, and I decided to take advantage of her silence by doing absolutely nothing. I opened up the windows in the apartment and did a load of laundry. I trolled ebay, wrote a bunch of emails, read parts of the Sunday NYT and made a salade ni�oise for lunch.

The afternoon wasn�t much better in terms of productivity, but it was definitely more fun. I blew off yoga for sex, made a tomato-chicken tagine with couscous, spoke to the troika (that�s Harriet, Mr Bingo and my older sister) and won an auction.

Even �nothing� is �something.�

Over the weekend, there was a little carnival (with rides) over by the Stop N Shop in North Haven. I really wanted to go and make fun of the carnies, but Terence vetoed it. �We�ll get our asses kicked!� There�s nothing scarier�and scarier-looking�than an angry mob of carnies.

I read Geek Love. I know these things.

Instead we went to White Plains, New York to check out a megamall because we are still looking for clothes to wear to that goddamned wedding in May (sidebar: I wish people would just stop getting married! It�s a big pain in the ass already.) Of course, we didn�t find anything, because we never find anything in malls. That�s just not how we shop. Even when there are luxury outposts interspersed with Gaps and Bananas and Ann Taylors, there is still nothing.

In this case �nothing� really is �nothing� unless you count two salads and a coke at Nordstrom�s caf� as �something.�

On the plus side, we drove back along the 15 which was really beautiful because there were daffodils everywhere. There were also these insanely yellow hedges surrounding a lot of properties, and I�m not kidding, the color was hyperreal. I predict that Terence and I will experience some kind of Fall Foliage Freakout when Autumn hits.

That�s �something,� I guess.

9:14 a.m. - 2004-04-20

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: