powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bird is the word

Yesterday as I was leaving yoga, one of the studio owners/teachers asked me if I�d considered Teacher Training.

I said, �yeah, a couple of times, but I don�t know�� She added that she and another teacher were going to attend week-long Morning Intensives in Hartford and that if I was interested, I could ride with them.

It was really sweet of her to invite me. And I just may do it, as much for my own practice, as to get to know the two yogis better. Hmm, make friends maybe? The problem is the classes are from 7am to 9am daily, in Hartford, which is about 40 minutes away. Subtract 40 mn from 7am, and you have what I like to call An Ungodly Hour for Being Awake Even if it is For Greater Good.

Still. It could be the right thing. I need to find out which session the yogis are signed up for, and see if there�s still room in the sessions.

And this all happened on the heels of a funny IM session with Harriet, wherein I stated that it was weird being one of the most advanced yogis at this studio in New Haven. She was saying, �No, you�re really good and just too modest,� and I was disagreeing with her because in LA, I was a strong and dedicated intermediate, and there were lots of people like me. And for every one of me, there were 2 or 3 amazingly superior (but humble) yogis who could asana circles around everybody else.

And I�m only talking about the physical aspect of yoga.

It�s been an uneventful week so far. The weather is hot and slightly humid (but not unbearable) and the light in the morning feels very San Francisco Indian Summer. My clothes are STILL IN STORAGE but I will have access to my summer wardrobe once we move (at the end of this month.) We�re still looking for real estate to buy, but we are now also looking for apartments to rent. You�d think it would be easy to find a rental near Yale at the end of the Spring semester, but a lot of these places require a year or two year lease, and we�re not sure we should commit to that. We�ve also considered subletting a student apartment, but as depressed as I get hanging around this beige corporate apartment, I think I would be near suicidal hanging around a student�s stained futon-found object-beer can pyramid decorated pad.

But I am not losing hope! No, I am trying to stay optimistic and approach this entire adventure with the eye of an anthropologist.

And in science mode, this morning I observed one of these, and that was very exciting. We don�t have those in California. We have them on shirts for sports teams, but I�ve never seen one in real life.

Chalk one up for the New England.

9:19 a.m. - 2004-05-12

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: