powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Herculean task

I�ve been thumbing through one of my zillion copies of this, and I noticed lots of itty bitty changes. Changes that occurred after I delivered the files. Wrong, ugly changes.

Grrrrr.

It�s a good thing my name is buried in the Acknowledgements, because I don�t want any current or future client to come calling with a �Hey, we loooooove what you did with the project. Can you do that for us?�

All I can think of is that bar scene in Pulp Fiction where Marcellus is talking to Butch, tapping the side of his head, warning, �That�s pride fucking with you.�

There�s a part of me that knows I should have put my name in there--in 12 pt caps, in Cooper Black why not?--but my pride got the better of me. I�d rather folks associate my name with something I�m proud of (even when the projects are undertaken for purely mercenary reasons.)

And of course, I still haven�t been paid the last half of my fee! Oh yes, this project is going to drag on and on until I have nothing left on which to blame my undereye bags and my ever expanding ass. By the time I get the money, surgery and Mach 7 liposuction will be long overdue.

We saw an apartment today at 1pm. What. A. Dump. When we got back in the car, I said to Terence, �You know, if we had seen this ten years ago, we would have been psyched.�

�I was thinking the same thing!�

It�s not that we�re snobs (who am I kidding? We are ridiculous snobs!) but at a certain point in your life, you expect to live in a particular way. Terence and I always kid about �the style and manner to which we are accustomed� (use your haughty voice!) but it�s the fucking truth. You can�t go backwards.

We�ve done pretty well with rentals for the last 3 years: in LA, our place was pristine with beautifully refinished floors and perfect paint; in Paris, our digs were minimalist chic with 17th century stone floors, bright white walls and chocolate silk curtains.

Naturally given this track record, we will imperiously reject:

- all weird floorplans brought about by lame-brained room segmentation

- sloppy, drippy woodwork refinishing

- broken heaters and dubious-looking appliances

- patchy, stained or dirty walls

- floors that slope to the point of vertigo-inducement

- multiple locks on front doors

- giant chunks of animal hair in the hallways

- (and this is a new one) long, spiky looking chains extending from a neighbor�s fence obviously meant to restrain some kind of 21st century blood-thirsty Cerberus

Uh, no.

So the search for apartment rentals and condos for sale continues.

3:28 p.m. - 2004-05-14

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: