powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Evening the score

Our car now has CT plates. We don�t have to renew registration for 2 yrs cause that�s how it works in Connecticut. That�s pretty cool.

In CA, our car was fast approaching gross polluter status, passing smog tests by the hair on its chinny chin chin. Yearly registration was a nail-biter.

Terence�s reaction to this? �Ha ha, suckers!�

The DMV was an eye-opener. I mean, it�s just like the DMV in your state: slow, inefficient, with long lines and put-upon-looking fidgety people. That stuff is pretty much a constant.

We began waiting in an interminable line when it occurred to us that we might as well just make an appointment and deal with the paperwork then. No sense wasting a nice Friday afternoon.

So Terence goes to the Information desk to inquire about a date, and the woman working there looks at him like he is from Mars.

�An appointment?�

�Yeah, an appointment so I can come back on another day at a specific time to deal with this stuff.�

�I don�t know how that would work. Appointments? We don�t have appointments here. You just have to wait like everybody else. Appointments? That�s a funny idea.�

Seriously.

California can�t be the only state with appointments at the DMV, can it?

I guess the score as it stands is:

CA [1] for having appts at the DMV

CT [1] for not making us smog check the Trooper

Another interesting car-related thing occurred this morning. I was pulling out of our apt complex, when I noticed the Saab head of me. It had two bumper stickers on it.

- on the left: Bush/Cheney �04

- on the right: Boycott France

I couldn�t believe it. It made me so angry that I very nearly pulled up alongside the car, rolled down my window and screamed, �espece d�encule de merde!� but thought better of it. No sense making enemies out of idiot neighbors. I�d rather keep a low-pro.

I mentioned this to my older sister, and she said, �I want a bumper sticker that says THE FRENCH WERE RIGHT since goddamn, they were. And they're right right now, too, with Chirac's bold statements about US extortion on AIDS meds...�

My $400 file cabinets have arrived. Boy, are they sexy! Almost as sexy as my Charles Jourdan shoes�but not quite�

2:42 p.m. - 2004-07-14

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: