powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DigitALL

I�ve burned every single one of my cds to my G3 tower. It took about 2 weeks total (but not fulltime or anything.)

I wish I�d counted the cds along the way so I�d know how many I actually have. Maybe 250? 300? More? Thank god I had the foresight to buy a 120GB hard drive last year�it�s not even full! I have no idea how much music I own, but I know I don�t own 120GB�s worth, or more than a mega iPod�s worth.

What�s most exciting is that elegant in-room cd storage is now a non-issue. I don�t know about you, but I�ve never been satisfied with storing jewel cases in cabinets or shelves or drawers or sleeves or folders. None of those solutions ever pleased me, and now I don�t have to deal with buying special furniture to house cds. They are all neatly put away in file boxes in a closet. If I want to hear a song, I just launch iTunes and search for the title. Or if I want to listen to decent radio, I just stream kusf or kcrw!

Genius.

The hard part for me will be resisting the urge to buy cds. Cold turkey. No more cds. I can go to Amoeba to browse and get a contact high, but if I want an album, I will go home, pay for it online then download it.

Someone at TA�s office said, �What if your computer crashes? What�ll you do then? How are you going to back the songs up?�

So smart-alecky TA said, �Hmmm� back them up to cds?�

On Friday, I am going to check out studio spaces. I hope they don�t suck. There are two available in an old brick complex: one at 400 sq/ft and another at 1200. The smaller space would be perfect for just my design crap; the larger one would be ideal for both office and creative mess-making (painting, screenprinting, whatever bricolage TA has in mind.) I really, really hope they don�t suck.

I sent my portfolio to the headhunter, and the only work he had that I might be interested in was a senior designer position one hour outside of Madison� Wisconsin! Not sure if I�m ready to become a cheesehead, or a daily commuter though�

12:55 p.m. - 2004-08-25

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: