powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ahhh, nuts

I�ve been dying for candied nuts, esp. in salades composees, so I made some.

Super easy and delicious!

3 TBSP corn syrup

1 1/2 TBSP sugar

3/4 TSP salt

1/4 TSP fresh ground pepper

1 1/2 cup nuts (I�ve used almonds, walnuts and pecans before)

Oven 325�. Lightly grease a cookie sheet.

Put corn syrup, sugar, salt and pepper in a bowl. Mix. Add nuts, and stir to coat (be gentle so you don�t crush your nuts. Ouch!)

Dump nut goo onto cookie sheet. Bake for 5 mn.

With a fork, stir nuts to further coat with melted mixture. Continue baking until golden and coating bubbles, 10 mn or so.

Transfer to a piece of foil, and quickly/carefully separate nuts from eachother.

Cool. Inhale. Repeat.

My favorite salade these days is butter lettuce with torn bits of cilantro, mint and dill, sliced grapes, obscene clumps of goat cheese and The Nuts. I would eat this every day if I could. Unfortunately the lettuce and herbs here are expensive and not as tasty as in California.

Oh well. Here, I have fresh mozzarella about 5 minutes away, and cheap lobster.

I don�t want the world. Just your half.

I�m designing a book cover for my friend the landscape photographer, and I am not inspired. His edict to maintain the sanctity of the image is really starting to majorly irk. It just makes me want to put giant type on top of one of his pictures THAT MUCH MORE.

Quiet meditative Chinese landscape? GIANT TYPE ACROSS IT.

SFMOMA architectural detail? GIANT OUTLINE TYPE ACROSS IT.

I really need to work through this adolescent phase, and fast. There are print deadlines to meet. And I�m not getting any younger!

1:07 p.m. - 2004-09-08

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: