powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Get out of this place

I am falling apart.

Last night, while biting into some dinner, one of my molars cracked. I spit out mashed potatoes and a little piece of tooth.

Oh, it�s disgusting to be decomposing at my age! I ran to the bathroom to look at the tooth in the mirror, and I recoiled in HORROR! Exposed old filling and decay!

The truth is this particular tooth has been on deathwatch for a few years now. Before I moved to Paris, my American dentist informed me that the tooth would eventually need a crown, but that I needn�t worry about it just yet.

Let the worrying begin. I�ve made an appointment with a dentist, and Thursday he will peer into my mouth and see all sorts of yuckmouth terribleness. The crown is but the tip of the iceberg of problems�I haven�t had a checkup in 3 years, most of my fillings need replacing, the list in endless�

At least, I have insurance now. Thank god this didn�t happen while I was dental insurance-less in Los Angeles. That would have been more miserable.

The car is on its deathbed, too. We are both coming apart at the seams� like Beetlejuice, head and limbs and arms flying off! The car is parked in the lot at TA�s office, with a Do Not Resuscitate order on the dash. We�re renting a cheapie car while we figure out what to do. It�s a drag to have our hand forced into a purchase, but we�ve at least done research. Now it�s just a matter of finding the right price-to-mileage-to-year ratio.

I am boring myself. Physical ailments, car problems, house purchase, bird watching, office construction� could I be more of a suburban clich�?

I have got to get out of this place.

11:36 a.m. - 2004-09-21

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: