powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Color me tired

WWTFD.

That stands for �What Would Tom Ford Do� and that�s how I intend to live. It�s aspirational at best, since I am not nearly as wealthy or successful, or gay and metallically burnished and sexy as he is. But I am going to try my hardest to add a dash of Tom to everything I do.

It would be a lot easier if I owned this book, but as it hasn�t been released yet, I will just have to proceed on instinct.

To me, channeling Tom Ford means restricting the color palette and textures of my surroundings. This reduction of visual noise appeals to my love for the ascetic, the austere. I know it sounds hard and bare; I cannot deny that I would love nothing more than to live in a John Pawson monastery, the architectural equivalent of self-denial (or devotion, whichever word you prefer.)

It�s funny because although I want to live in a limited color-wheel, I cannot deny that I love color. I love it! It�s one of my favorite parts of working on new projects or paintings. There�s so much you can communicate with just a tone or a tint or a shade. Color sometimes feels like the music in graphic design.

So while I wear black most of the time, I have no problem spec�ing saturated tomato reds, spicy mustards, and rich chocolatey browns.

Anyway, just thought I�d share.

4:28 p.m. - 2004-10-22

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: