powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Caligula would have blushed

I very much enjoyed Portrait of a Lady. But I could not say the title of the book without invoking Steven Tyler. I�m sure Henry James rolled in his grave listening to me screech Dude Looks Like A Lady.

TA has a habit of turning the phrase Free Dress Friday into Husker Du�s New Day Rising. Every Friday is Punk Rock Friday!

Shaws supermarket has grouped their ethnic foods into a section of the store called Foods of the World. As we shop, we sing The Jam�s News of the World. Everything should be a song. It�s like living in your own little musical. It makes everyday boring tasks way more amusing.

The east coat�s Highway 95? Nena�s 99 Luftballoons (basically, you sing 99 with that chick�s accent then string a bunch of German words together. Since I don�t speak German, I mix equal parts high-brow Eine Kleine Nachtmusik, with low-brow Kartoffel, Gurken, Bratwurst, Jagerschnitzel, liebling)

Northern California�s 280? Killing Joke�s The Eighties
(also works for 80, 580, 680, and 880) Try it. �Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, 280! I�m driving on 280! I have to push, I have to struggle!� I can�t take credit for this one; my friend Mike came up with it.

People�s Bank? Depeche Mode�s People are People or The Smiths� Hand In Glove (my preference.)

Ack. It�s freezing in here. I can�t wait for the gas guy to stop by and get that going. I don�t want to spend the winter hunched over my desk with bum gloves on � la Bob Cratchit.

1:18 p.m. - 2004-10-26

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: