powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy New Year!

I asked a friend of mine if I should see Sideways, and she said �well, if you like movies about depressed middle-aged men, then yes.�

Well I liked it, and I�m not sure that I�m a fan of the genre if indeed there even exists a genre called Depressed Middle-Aged Men.

This weekend I also indulged in a little Anchorman (terrible,) Knockaround Guys (also terrible. Not even the sexy angular Barry Pepper could lift the movie above Watered-Down Lame Gangster, a genre I cannot champion,) and Dodgeball (not horrible and oddly funnier than expected.)

We also bought games because sometimes a round of Scrabble or Risk or Boggle is more satisfying than Netflix and we live in a very boring place. The goal is to have a fully-stocked game closet � la The Royal Tenenbaums.

In rotation on the nightstand:
- Friend of My Youth by Alice Munro
- The Rise of the Creative Class by Richard Florida
- Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

In rotation on the iPod:
- Spoon
- Super Black Market Clash
- Joy Zipper
- The Fall

I�m going to SF in a little over a week and I�m totally NOT READY. The truth is, I�m never ready. Maybe 2005 will be the year I forgive myself for trying to do too much and then never truly accomplishing anything at all?

The truth is out there.

1:20 p.m. - 2005-01-03

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: