powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I really thank god it's Friday. This re-entry after vacation has been ugly.

So I finished getting all the files together for that damned book. And then the photographer called to CHANGE THE SECOND COLOR.

Hello?

What?

Noooooooo!

I freaked out for about 30 seconds, regained my composure, then told him and the overseas print broker that I�d mark up the hard copy to reflect the change, but that I wouldn�t have time to digitally alter the files.

They said that was ok (since the file is going to separate into two pieces of film, at least before they deal with the tritones.) Instead of using pms 447 on press, they�ll use Cool Gray 11.

I can be �Cool.�

After that, I broke my new cd burner. Don�t ask me how I did it, I don�t know, it just stopped working. A blank cd-r became unreadable, the burner wouldn�t eject it, rue-madame tried all her little �get the goddamned thing out now!� techniques, and NADA. That�s $275 down the drain.

Yesterday was a very stressful day.

I was so looking forward to an hour of numbing television, but it was not to be. Terence�s grad school application had to be submitted online. And wouldn�t you know it? The school�s site wouldn�t accept PDFs. So I had to turn all of my beautifully-designed files into ugly-ass Word documents, and can you see where this is going?

Yes! Straight to Crankyland!

On top of that, I had to access files from a cd, and of course, the cd player in my laptop doesn�t work anymore. So I had to fileshare from my G3, then additionally have TA email me files from his PC.

It took three hard drives, two people and nearly 4 hours to get that application filled out, fine-tuned, checked, paid for and submitted. And it�s for an interactive/physical computing program!

See the �irony�?

9:24 a.m. - 2005-01-07

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: