powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Big baby

Today is the first day since my podiatry appointment that I�ve walked about without my bandage/sling thingie. There is no pain in my foot that I can sense. Guess the cortisone shot must have done the trick.

Oh the glory of modern medicine! Without it, I would be dead long time, Charlie. Seriously: with my asthma and other childhood illnesses, I would never have made it past 3 or 4 years. I spent most of kindergarden wheezing in the hospital.

Actually, I almost wasn�t even born alive, so stuck was I in the birth canal. From what I�ve been told, it was scary and touch and go for a while, with my mother slipping in and out of consciousness, the white coats snapping latex gloves.

Maybe I just wasn�t ready to be around. That�s how I�ve always looked at it, anyway. I had it good in the womb and wasn�t leaving til I was truly prepared for primetime.

When I was 17, my two best friends were 2 years younger. My best friend Harriet? 3 years younger. Mr Bingo? 3 years younger. Ned? 4 years younger. I�ve never felt a kinship with my peer group, preferring instead the company of younger people. It�s always been this way.

The birth trauma might be responsible for more than just my persistent lung disease. Hey, it could also be why I hate telling people my real age! Or why I love Bright Eyes and Green Day and The OC! Or why this blog has no driving theme that would make it appealing to publishers! Yes! Yes! It�s not that I�m retarded; I�m merely stunted! I�m from two years ago, not today!

Phew. Thank god for the twin cultures of adultescence and blame. I'd have no raison d'�tre otherwise.

12:11 p.m. - 2005-02-01

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: