powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Foothold to financial stability

Valentine�s Day was spent doing the following romantic thing: installing a new hard drive and a new CD/DVD drive into the laptop, formatting the drive then installing the operating system. Sexy and impossibly sensual, I know. We went home, ate leftover soup while reading leftover Sunday NYT, then went to bed.

My So-Called Life.

Today I had two injections into the nerve branches on the bottoms of both feet (my self-diagnosis of a neuroma in the right foot was right on the money. I even had the tell-tale clicking sound during the physical exam which naturally delighted my podiatrist who�d only heard the apocryphal tales of neuromic music.) While not as painful as having your arm chopped off by King Arthur, those shots hurt like fucking hell. Like a slender knife was slowly being inserted through my foot and out the bottom of it.

But once that was over, I felt nothing in my feet. And I should expect to feel nothing for about 6 hours. Bliss.

I am undergoing the second phase of my treatment. This is the one that comes before the nerve surgery, and before the dreaded toe-shortening surgery. Let�s hope this relatively new treatment works. I am all about alternative medical techniques that keep surgery at bay.

While I was recovering, the doctor told me to stay off my feet.

Me: That�ll be easy. I sit on my ass all day.

Dr.: Oh, yeah? What is it you do, again?

Me: I�m a graphic designer.

His eyes lit up, and he asked me if I�d redesign his office�s logo. Then he asked about signage. Then the website. It was thoughtful that he waited until I�d been numbed from the ankles down to ask me about maybe doing some work. I�m going to do some research and think about it. Could be interesting.

So there you go: foot pain and a potential client. Discuss.

12:27 p.m. - 2005-02-16

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: