powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bak bak bak

I watched some red carpet arrivals and realized that all those years I didn�t have cable? I wasn�t missing anything! The coverage was sycophantic and boring. Or maybe it�s because I don�t have PREMIUM cable that I missed the �good� coverage? I was expecting far more fashion analysis, a lot less ass-kissing.

The weekend was spent on home projects, working on my book project, cleaning and organizing and buying a special snowboard gear travel bag� generally freaking out about going away for two weeks to Switzerland and France. And yes, I know that makes me sound like an asshole.

I have managed to make an appointment with a banker at my rue de Rennes branch of the BNP, so hopefully while in Paris, I�ll be able to use my Carte Bleue at the very most, withdraw euros at the very least. The exchange rate for the dollar sucks, and I�ve got euros just sitting in an account, begging to be spent somewhere on rue de Grenelle. Iris? Bruno Frisoni? Christian Louboutin? Prada?

Last night I made a very delicious roast chicken with onion rosemary gravy, and I can�t even believe how easy and delicious it was. I�m sure it helped that we splurged and bought a free-range bird. At the market, the cashier said, �You like free-range?�

Me: Yeah.

Cashier: I don�t.

Me: Do you find them too juicy? (too delicious? too full of flavor? too free of chemicals and growth hormones? Too--dare I say it?�Chickeny?)

Cashier: There�s something about the texture. Maybe they�re too rubbery, or squishy?

TA: I sometimes like chicken dry, and free-range chicken isn�t dry.

Cashier: All I know is, one time? At the Mohegan Sun? My husband and I had dinner before a Paul McCartney concert, and I ordered chicken, and the menu didn�t say free-range? But when I got the chicken, I knew. And I sent it back.

Me: (I�m sure the menu said �free-range�) Well, it�s good that you know what you like. (and now there�s more chickeny chicken in the world for me.)

Recipe available upon request.

12:29 p.m. - 2005-02-28

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: