powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The girl didn't cry wolf after all

Another list because I cannot get a cohesive entry together.

1. I just got back from my first physical therapy appointment and you�ll all be relieved to know that the pain in my knees is REAL! There is actually something wrong with me! After those �your bones are perfectly healthy� xrays last week, I was beginning to feel like a true blue French hypochondriac, but the physical therapist today diagnosed me with MCL (Medial Collateral Ligament) injuries in both knees. The treatment involves ultrasound, ice massages and exercises.

2. Yay, Craig*�s List finally has a New Haven outpost. This is going to make getting rid of some our crap SO MUCH EASIER.

* When Craig moved his offices from Cole Valley to the Inner Sunset, I would see him all the time at my caf� on 9th Avenue. An indie celeb sighting, kinda.

3. I�ve been thinking about the Pope. About how he was 5 feet away from me in St Peter�s Basilica when I was in Rome in 97, and how I was so stunned at being >this< close to the Pontiff that I just froze. And it�s not like he was a nimble pope, trying to make a fast getaway. He was old and moved slower than molasses, but I was glued to the floor. I could have reached out and touched faith!

It was a weird because up until that point, I had always felt ambivalence about the Pope. Ambivalence bordering on disappointment, really. Yes, JPII did a lot of great things, but his recidivist attitudes about homosexuality and women and birth control bummed me out. I was so unprepared to be within Papal range that day; I thought I was just going to look at the insane baldacchino! I surprised myself by being awed. And I�m someone who�s seen a bunch of A-list celebrities and acted nonchalant, you know.

4. Last night when we got home after work, a neighbor invited us to quiz night at a local pub. Our team was annihilated, but it was still fun. There was a musical portion of the quiz, where you had to identify the singers of certain �hits�, and I seriously sucked at that. Thank god the people at my table could correctly identify: Nelly and Tim McGraw (?), Marshall Tucker Band (?), Lynyrd Skynyrd (?)� the only correct answer I got? Snow Patrol. My tablemates looked at me like I was insane when I said it. Maybe I should be proud that I couldn�t identify Skynyrd?

Whatever. Everybody�s got their arcane specialty.

5. I�m sketching ideas for my new website. Wish me luck.

2:20 p.m. - 2005-04-06

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: