powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

News and shoes

This morning I saw my adorable podiatrist. When you go see physicians as often as I do, it really helps to see a friendly cute one. Especially when you have an appointment at the ungodly hour of 7:45 am.

[sidebar: I say �ungodly� about 7:45 but the truth is, it was no more difficult for me to wake up at 6 am than to wait an hour the way I normally do. There is more cachet to being Night Person, and I love to complain about early mornings, but the truth is I am a hopelessly uncool Morning person (and also a hopelessly hyperbolic one as well.)]

So the bunion surgery is ON! I didn�t expect to feel such elation at discussing the details and scheduling of the operation, but leaving the dr�s office I felt lighter and hopeful. I might even have had a spring in my step were it not for the micro-torn ligaments in my knees!

The deal is this: I am having an osteotomy. The doctor will make a 3-4� incision in the side of my left foot, he will take a tiny saw and divide the 5th metatarsal bone and move it into proper alignment with the rest of my bones (which means moving it over to the right.) Small screws will be placed into the split bone area to �lock� it into position. This will ensure that I never have a bunion on that side of my foot ever again. He said I was the ideal candidate for this sort of procedure and when I asked why, he said, �because your tiny little foot is wide in that spot and there�s plenty of room to reposition the bone.� I never thought I�d be grateful to have flippers instead of feet, but hey, I am.

I�ll be in a hard cast for 2 weeks, he�ll remove the stitches then put me in a soft one for 3. All told, I will be out of commission for 5-6 weeks, in comfortable shoes for a month or so afterwards. He looked over at my Pradas (Don�t be alarmed! Not only did I not pay that much, I also got the detaxe) and said, �You won�t be able to wear those for a while. You�ll need running shoes.�

Cute shoes are back in my future! Maybe not right away, but soon! My darling Christian Louboutin, Michel Perry, and Bruno Frisoni are back on the table.

I have a reason to live again.

10:02 a.m. - 2005-04-20

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: