powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Health assurances

For the past year or so, I�ve been covered by my Blue Cross of California plan.

Well BC of CA has just sent me an email saying I can�t be covered forever when I live in a different state, so they�ve suggested I shop around locally then discontinue my plan with them once I have CT coverage.

I called Blue Cross of Connecticut, and guess what? Just because they share a logo and name with BC of CA doesn�t mean they have anything to do with eachother! That�s right, there�s no sharing of databases or nothing. It�s like the computer age never even happened.

So now I have to re-apply for health insurance and guess what? My rheumatoid arthritis has made me uninsurable under BC�s individual plan. I am now among America�s Uninsurables! How fucking jive is that?

The only positive is that BC of CT will �honor� BC of CA by offering me something called an �Interplan Package.� I sputtered and fumed when the salesperson told me I�d have to pay $1307 every 3 months, but I just did the math and it�s really only $233 more than what I�ve been paying.

Even so, this country is totally screwed. When is anyone in office going to grow some huevos and do something about this crisis?

Today is Friday, and TA gets out of work at 1. You know what that means? I get out at 1, too! Woohoo!

1:18 p.m. - 2005-06-03

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: