powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Foot for thought

The �cookout� on Saturday was odd and check it out: no one went in the pool! Everyone secretly fears the Doughboy!*

The food was better this time around, but there was no meal planning which I found sort of strange. We just kind of grazed for hours and hours with no clear beginning or middle but definitely a well-defined and sugary end: dessert. Not that I need my meals to follow a clear narrative arc or anything. I�m just happy if they end on a sweet note, and if that sweet note has to be a supermarket strawberry shortcake then ok, I�ll eat that. Beggars can�t be choosers.

We brought our famous Rodney King dip, corn on the cob for the bbq, and spicy Italian sausages from a well-known deli. Next time I will also bring dessert. I love that even when I�m a guest at a bbq, I have to bring one item for each course. It�s partly that I�m a control freak, but mostly (I think) that I can�t tolerate food-centric events like �cookouts� if the food is less than stellar.

I don�t know if it�s a French thing, or something from my crazy family, but all events involving people and food must feature extraordinarily delicious food. If it isn�t homemade, then it must come from a very special bakery/creamery/wine shop/produce market/deli, the kind of place you don�t go to every day. Why have a party if you�re not going to go overboard and spoil everyone?

And now for something completely different: it has been two months TO THE DAY! since I had my foot operation. The scar is healing very nicely, and my foot is no longer freakishly deformed. In fact, just as Dr K predicted, my right foot now looks bizarre in comparison!

:: Progress ::

This is what the side of my left foot looked like on June 9, 2005

This is what the side of my left foot looks like today, 2 months post-op. The scar gets tinier and fainter every day and I will soon trade the Puma trainers for something more fashionable. I cannot wait to get myself some new winter boots!

Soldes de Janvier, here I come!


* By the way, I described the pool to Mr Bingo, telling him that it was just an outdoor bathtub and he exclaimed, �That is not a pool! How are you supposed to �lounge by the pool� and �dip your toes in the pool� if there�s no edge?�

8:59 a.m. - 2005-08-09

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: