powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fall forward

I haven�t updated because I�ve been spending the last days of summer with TA, enjoying our time together before his classes start.

And his classes started today.

He called me from Washington Square Park to say hello. �Hello!� I replied, instantly jealous of the Manhattan background noise, a cacophony of Rosie Perez whines, rapping teenagers, and car horns. He better not have been scoring pot before class!

I am doing as much as I can to keep him excited and focused on school, but it�s really hard for him to be enthusiastic when his mother is so sick. He feels he should be on the West Coast right now, that grad school is self-indulgent, but he also realizes that there�s nothing his presence in CA would accomplish really. Postponing his dreams is exactly what his mother would not want him to do. She spent her life postponing hers, and she�s the last person who would ask him to do the same.

Heavy.

Meanwhile, I talked to my mother who autodiagnosed herself with diverticulitis and decided to just take some leftover antibiotics to cure herself. First of all, �leftover antibiotics�? You�re always, ALWAYS supposed to finish your bottle of antibiotics. Second of all, my mother may have a Masters but she is not a Doctor! What the hell? At least, my father has the sense to see physicians when something�s wrong. What if I�d just ignored my rheumatoid arthritis symptoms and simply taken aspirin? I can�t even imagine. I�d be a cripple now.

Speaking of, my hands are fucked up. I don�t think my drug dosage is correct, and I am really thinking I need combination therapy. I was supposed to see Dr B in November, but I can�t wait that long. I�ve got to reschedule before this lump on my right hand turns out to be a Snow White Witch nodule, and I have zero function left in any of my hand joints. This may be as good as it gets for some people, but it is not good enough for me.

On a happy note, I forgot to mention that when I was in LA, I checked this out. It was really cool, and a nice way to relax after eating lunch at the Backdoor Bakery.

5:01 p.m. - 2005-09-06

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: