powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cankle rankle

I love how at the Museum of the City of New York gala, a surprising number of the socialites were shot from an unflattering angle making practically every single one of them look like she has cankles.

Cankles!!

That, my friends, is some tasty schadenfreude. Who cares if you get to borrow a Nina Ricci dress if the entire ensemble is anchored to a thick heavy foundation? And what's with the ankle straps on the shoes? Have these women not been listening to me? Ankle straps are only for the very tall and very lean. On everyone else (meaning 95% of the population), ankle straps make you look like trussed up poultry. Anytime I see women in inappropriate-for-their-physiques ankle strapped shoes, I want to run up and attach turkey frills to their feet.

Tory Burch and Kerry Washington are some of the only women whose calves look normal for their diminutive sizes (I mean, let’s face it: actresses and socialites don’t eat. Anyone see Ellen Pompeo at the Emmys? She was a skeleton covered in a 5/8” thin film of skin. Great actress but ewww.) Everyone else (the usual suspects Connor, Rose, Schifter) has water buffalo ankles. Perhaps this is the one area of the female form that is immune to diet and cosmetic reconstruction? Probably not. I read an article not too long ago in Vogue about arm cosmetic surgery (deflabification) so the ankles are probably not too far behind.

I’ve got tons of work to do today and I’m anxious to get it done. The sooner I finish, the sooner I can invoice! Woohoo.

11:56 a.m. - 2005-09-23

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: