powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If the boot fits...

I was awake and walking around the apartment for almost two hours when I felt a sharp shooting pain on the bottom of my left foot.

Yes, that�s right, the foot that was operated on.

Massaging the foot revealed the pain to originate from an area just under and behind where the screw is in the bone. TA forced me to call the podiatrist, and handed me the phone and my crutches.

�Just tell them to bill you directly. We�ll deal with the insurance later.�

Doogie Howser, MD took one set of xrays that revealed nothing. He palpated the area, I winced and said ow-ow-ow threetimesreallyfast, then he encircled the painful part of my foot with a donut-shaped sticker for another xray. That helped mark where the pain was coming from, but revealed nothing on the bone. Doogie Howser�s theory is that I either have a stress fracture or an actual fracture somewhere on that bone, and that the only way to know for sure is for me to wait two weeks for the injury to sprout some tell-tales signs in another xray. The resident who was shadowing the doctor was very excited about my xrays. He said, �Wow, that screw is perfectly positioned!� as though he were staring at the brush strokes of a genius.

In the meantime, I am to wear the most expensive boot in the universe (the one that isn�t even Prada.)

So that was my morning.

1:22 p.m. - 2005-11-01

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: