powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Allons, les enfants de la Patrie...

Well, I managed to not only take the minutes for last night�s annoying condo assn (or should I say �ass�?) meeting, but I managed to make it back to my apartment in time for ANTM. I may have missed the first 3-7 minutes of the show, but I did not miss any vital information. Those girls are going to London!

Good thing I�ve got my priorities straight.

The condo meeting itself was fine. The vote on the windows went exactly as I�d hoped, meaning that the measure to have them all replaced was approved. Again. For the second time. The insurgent movement had no momentum, their issue had no traction, and most owners agreed that the capital improvement/property value factor outweighed the cost of having the work done.

The second issue was ousting to president, but as he�d already stepped down, the Gang of Three wanted to hold a vote on removing the president�s successor. That measure was also defeated.

When all of this nonsense started, TA was furious and wanted to step down from the board. He thought people were behaving like babies. He had endless discussions with one of the chief Insurgents and had no luck breaking through to him. Some people just don�t want to consider the shoe on the other foot, or listen to reason. �Don�t confuse me with facts. My mind�s made up� is an expression my parents always use, and it is apt in describing the attitude of some of our neighbors. They go full metal demagogue when the procedures and bylaws are not followed to the letter but ask them to sacrifice their own selfish needs for the good of the group, and they invoke �democracy�! The nerve.

I want to say that the worst of it is over, but I�m sure it�s not. The next meeting is sure to be mayhem.

3:58 p.m. - 2005-11-10

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: